Dirty Pickle Martini

When it comes to my drink of choice, I often find myself going on “cocktail kicks,” where I prefer a certain cocktail for a specific period of time. Recently, I’ve been on a dirty martini kick and to mix things up, so started using pickle juice instead of olive juice and the result has been super satisfying–and lip puckering!

Inspired by one of my friends’ favorite shots–the Pickle Back, a whiskey shot chased with pickle juice–the Dirty Pickle Martini is crisp, sour and salty all at once. Though I prefer all of my martinis made with gin, the Dirty Pickle Martini is especially tasty when made with gin. Just a word of warning though, once you find out how good these martinis are, you might be inspired to shake up a few more so you can experiment and taste the various flavors different pickle juices bring–or maybe that was just me? After rigorous testing, my personal favorite–so far–has been spicy pickle juice. Yum!

Dirty Pickle Martini by Judith Pena

 

Serves 2

Ingredients

5 ounces gin
2 ounces pickle juice
1 ounce dry vermouth
2 pickles, for garnish (pickle slices could work as well)
ice

Preparation

Pour gin, pickle juice and vermouth into a shaker filled with ice. Stir (or shake, if you must) with a (bar)spoon for 1 minute. Strain into two chilled martini glasses and garnish.

Leave a Reply

